top of page



Healthcare Engineering Alliance Society’s governance structure exists to fulfill the society's mission, goals, and strategic plans. Our governance team consists of the Board of Directors (see below), committees, and officers working closely with the Executive Director. The work is divided among committees.

Board of Directors


The Board of Directors is charged with maintaining the vitality and growth of HEALS, adopting formal policy, providing fiscal oversight, supporting the Executive Director, and fundraising.  Members of the Board include recognized leaders from healthcare/medical sectors of the engineering community, engineering/technology sectors of the healthcare community, and healthcare industry worldwide.  



  • Arup Chakraborty, PhD. Director of Institute for Medical Engineering and Science, Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering, Professor of Biological Engineering, Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Physics, MIT. Professor. Harvard-MIT Program in Health Sciences and Technology.


  • Clark C. Chen, M.D., Ph.D., Director of Stereotactic and Radiosurgery, Director of Neurosurgery Clerkship, Director of Medical Education, Co-Director of Surgical Oncology, Professor, University of California, San Diego, USA.


  • P. John Clarkson, Ph.D., Director, Cambridge Engineering Design Centre; University Professor, Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK


  • James R. Gavin III, M.D., Ph.D., Director of Baxter International Inc.; Chief Executive Officer and Chief Medical Officer of Healing Our Village, Inc.; Clinical Professor of Medicine and Senior Advisor of Health Affairs, Emory University; former President of the Morehouse School of Medicine; former Senior Science Officer, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; former Director, Amylin Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; former Director, Nuvelo Inc.  


  • Birgit Glasmacher, Prof. Dr.-Ing, former President, European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering & Science; Board member, European Society for Artificial Organs; Professor for Multiphase Processes & Spokesman Center for Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Leibniz Universitaet Hannover, Hannover, Germany.


  • Chris Lee, Vice President and President, Medtronic, Greater China; past Region Head & Managing Director for China and Hong Kong, Bayer HealthCare; Bristol Myers Squibb in Asia Pacific, including Korea, Australia and New Zealand. 


  • Myung Chul Lee, M.D., past President, Korean Society of Medical and Biological Engineering; past President, Korean Society of Human Brain Mapping; past President, Korean Society of Nuclear Medicine; past President, World Federation of Nuclear Medicine and Biology; Professor, Department of Nuclear Medicine, Seoul National University Hospital; Seoul, Korea.


  • Dr. Brendan Lovelock, Health Industry Practice Lead for Cisco Australia; Digital Hospital Design group at the Health Informatics Society of Australia.


  • Yoichiro Matsumoto, PhD, past President,  Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers; Executive Vice President, Vice-president, Professor of Bioengineering, University of Tokyo, Japan. 


  • Dee Mellor, Chief Quality Officer (global Quality Assurance, Regulatory Affairs, Medical & Clinical Affairs Organization), General Electric (GE) Healthcare; Executive Sponsor, GE Healthcare's chapters of the Women's Network; Board of Directors, Medical Device Innovation Consortium (MDIC); President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.


  • Bernd Montag, Dr. rer.nat, Chief Executive Officer, Siemens, AG; former CEO, Imaging & Therapy Systems, Imaging & Information Technology, Siemens Healthcare, Germany.


  • Kathryn (Kathy) E. Wengel, Vice President, Johnson & Johnson Supply Chain (Pharmaceuticals, Consumer Products, Global Orthopaedics, Global Surgery, and Diabetes Care and Vision Care). 




Anchor 1
bottom of page